Karajan® Cinema Classics:
Perfection in Music

Karajan® Cinema Classics presents you with unique concert music recordings at the cinema for the first time and in unprecedented sound quality. Experience the masterpieces of music in a completely new dimension of audio.
Thanks to innovative sound technologies, such as Dolby Atmos®, Karajan® Cinema Classics, offers you a musical experience like Herbert von Karajan once imagined for his audience in his most audacious dreams.
Fully dive into the music. Feel the crackling pizzicato plucking of strings. Ignite your emotions when the orchestra starts playing fortissimo. Discover yourself and the passion of music in a completely new way and become part of the music.




Ludwig van Beethoven | Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67
Richard Strauss | Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67

This is a larger-than-life programme, featuring two of the most revolutionary masterpieces of music – Beethoven’s 5th Symphony and Richard Strauss’s Alpine Symphony. Karajan conducted these amazing works throughout his life, and this powerful performance demonstrates how music can completely immerse you.



Anton Bruckner | Symphony No. 9 in D minor
Debussy, Ravel | La Mer, Prélude à l’après midi d’un faune, Daphnis et Chloé – Suite No. 2

Bruckner’s 9th Symphony, just like his 8th, is Karajan’s unofficial ‘trademark’ and gave rise to his most acclaimed performances. Additionally, in the so-called ‘French Programme’, you will enjoy the most important classical pieces of French Impressionism.



Rossini, Smetana, Sibelius, Josef Strauss | Guillaume Tell – Overture, Vltava Valse triste, Delirium Waltz, The Gypsy Baron – Overture
Modest Mussorgsky | Pictures at an Exhibition

A fireworks show of famous melodies. From the riding music of Tell to the undulating Vltava, all the way to the most renowned setting to music of an exhibition by far. And despite this, you would think you are hearing the music for the first time: the seriousness and, at the same time, the passion with which the music is being played here allows you to re-discover the music like never before.



Johannes Brahms | Symphony No. 2 D Major, op. 73
Peter Tchaikovsky | Symphony No. 6 in B minor, op. 74 “Pathétique”

Brahms’s 2nd Symphony is full of sumptuous melodies but often with a slight melancholy feel. It was written during a visit to the sunny Austrian province of Carinthia, and ends in a triumphant mood! The first season of Karajan® Cinema Classics will conclude with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in the Golden Hall with Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique, which he considered the keystone of his entire works.



Ludwig van Beethoven | Missa solemnis D Major, op. 123

Beethoven himself described this as his greatest work and audiences also seem convinced; the Missa Solemnis is one of the most famous masses of all time. The piano begins this work so softly, which is something everyone should hear at least once in their lifetime. It is almost as if Karajan, together with his musicians and singers, are humbly knocking on the shimmering gates of Heaven.

Cinemas & Tickets

ZIP / Address:
Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest dates and information.

E-Mail Adress*
First Name*
Last Name*
The data is required to provide you with information relevant to your region.

Official Internet-Trailer 1

Official Internet-Trailer 2

Official Cinema-Trailer

In the beginning, there was a vision.

“In five years, the technology will be far enough for us to be able to actually reproduce an orchestra almost in life-size in a private room and that, which was only achievable for a small club of people, will be made available to an entire world.”

– Herbert von Karajan